Close to 1000 designers from around the world were able to apply on-line for the coveted 2016 LVMH Young Fashion Designer prize. In mid-March, eight designers were shortlisted from the 23 semi-finalists who presented their collections during Paris Fashion Week. The winner will be announced on June 16th at the LVMH Foundation in Paris.finalists lvmn

Here, in alphabetical order, is the list of the 8 finalists:

Aalto by Tuomas Merikoski

Alyx by Matthew Williams

Brandon Maxwell by Brandon Maxwell

Facetasm by Hiromichi Ochiai

Koché by Christelle Kocher

Vejas by Vejas Kraszewski

Wales Bonner by Grace Wales Bonner

Y/Project by Glenn Martens

The 8 finalists include for the first time a Japanese designer, Hiromichi Ochiai, 3 Paris-based designers: French designer Christelle Kocher, Finnish designer Tuomas Merikoski and the Belgian Glenn Martens. A Canadian, Vejas Kraszewski and UK designer Grace Wales Bonner along with 2 Americans, Brandon Maxwell and Matthew Williams are also among the finalists.

This is the 3rd annual LVMH award and the winner takes the 300,000 Euro prize, as well as a year’s mentorship by LVMH.

The jury panel of 41 international fashion experts from all areas of the industry included: Karl Lagerfeld, Riccardo Tisci, Nicolas Ghesquière, Phoebe Philo, Marc Jacobs, Jonathan Anderson, Humberto Leon, Carol Lim, Delphine Arnault and Jean-Paul Claverie who is advisor to the Chairman and CEO Bernard Arnault.

Pink Heater